About Our Training Programs
MN DOT STS Driver Training
For Wilderness Emergency Medical Care training classes, click HERE.
Follow us on and for class updates!
Minnesota was the first state to require training for all Special Transportation drivers. In order to be employed as an STS driver in Minnesota candidates are required to complete 16 hours of training for an Ambulatory-only driver and 20 hours of training for a wheelchair transport driver, within 45 days of being hired. Driver re-certification is required every three (3) years.
Emergicare is the first STS driver training provider to endorse and incorporate Minnesota's "Toward Zero Deaths" program in defensive driving classes to raise awareness of the dangers of distracted driving and road rage. Visit: Minnesota Toward Zero Deaths for more information.
We were also the first training provider to include Compression-Only CPR in our Driver First Aid classes, although it is not required by MN DOT. As if January 1, 2018, two drivers have saved lives by successfully using the skills they learned in class!
We have been providing in person, hands-on Special Transportation
Driver Training to drivers for all providers since 2000 and have been
certified by the Minnesota Department of Transportation to teach all
four categories; Defensive Driving, Passenger Assistance, both
and Wheelchair, First Aid and Maltreatment Awareness/Abuse Prevention.
NOTICE: Effective March 10, 2019, At the request of several long-time clients, we will continue to offer training, however it will now be every other month, on a reservation-only basis. Providers will need to contact us by email to reserve a place in the class.
Monday, June 3, 2019: Defensive Driving, 6:00 PM Driving Miss Daisy, 1710 Douglas Dr. N., Golden Valley
Wednesday, June 5, 2019: Passenger Assistance (Ambulatory only)* Driving Miss Daisy
Monday, June 10, 2019: First Aid, (Location TBA)
Wednesday, June 12, 2019: Abuse Prevention/Maltreatment Awareness, Driving Miss Daisy
*Passenger Assistance B (Wheelchairs) by special arrangement only.
NOTICE: Effective October 1, 2018, all private classes for non-established clients (New, or we haven't held a class for your service in the past 36 months.) will require a $125.00 non-refundable reservation fee, which will be deducted from your final tuition bill.
Please Click here to register by e-mail.
Include the driver's name(s), ambulatory only or wheelchair training. and the company they drive for. You will receive a confirmation e-mail with the tuition cost, within 24 hours, or you can submit payment below:
Now Available: Pay by Credit/Debit Card, online or on-site - Online price includes discount:
(When paying online, please print your receipt and bring to class.)
Please call, or Click to send us e-mail (link repaired) with questions or to register.
Click HERE for tuition (class cost) and scheduling information.
Tuition and discount information updated on March 28, 2018
Emergicare in your community:
Emergicare is proud to support the Volunteer Special Event Medical Bike Team.
Click the insignia above for more information.
Questions or problems regarding
this web site should be directed to